More beach.

I’m still light on for wordspace in the old headspace.

So instead I give you more beach.

We’ve had friends visiting from Sydney over this Easter weekend. The southerly ‘breeze’ and dumpy surf haven’t been that enticing to me, but they’ve been loving it. (I’m just spoilt!)
It’s been hard to drag their two boys away from the water, and from digging in the sand.

Today -after they had a dip – the three of us – deciding some exercise was in order to counteract  the food (and chocolate) intake  – walked the 5km or so north up the beach to the next town. Instead of doing my usual up and back trek, we’d decided to wimp out on walking back south into the strong headwind –  and Himself kindly drove up to collect us.

There are things on the beach that I don’t tend to look twice at normally, but J – who is originally from Finland – suddenly did a bit of a double take and asked ‘What on earth is that?’

Meh.. it’s just a washed up jellyfish, said her Aussie husband and I.
We often call them jelly blubbers too – but I doubt that that is the correct scientific name for them!

And there’s my rocks again…
The locals actually refer to them as ‘Witches Hat’ – or ‘Witches’ ‘.
This time I’ve got a  fisherman perched on the rock.
Check the seagulls having to face into the wind to keep their positions.

What can I say.. It’s Easter – so patently this is a Hot Cross Jellyfish.

Despite the rough conditions, this kite surfer had just been out in it all.
All I can think of is what amazing upper body strength he must have.

Plus it made a good photo in my head.

7 Comments

Filed under our beach

7 responses to “More beach.

  1. Linda

    I like the last photo the best, niceeee

  2. Really great photos Trace – esp love the hot cross jellyfish!! Heh.
    🙂
    BB

  3. Wendy

    Loving the photos – it is always interesting to look at the everyday from someone else’s perspecitve isn’t it – makes you realise what you take for granted.

    In terms of the upper body strength I take it you were thinking of more than Easter buns?!?!

  4. Sensational shots. Glad that you indulge us even though it’s all ho hum to you. *grin*

  5. I love your beach… except for the jeelyfish (even if they are hot-crossed ones) 🙂

  6. Love the pics, very breezy up your way!

  7. It was very breezy over the weekend, Jayne! Things have calmed down a bit now.
    I only ever notice the jellyfish when they’re washed up, MB, so they don’t bother me. Now SEAWEED is another story. My one swim on the weekend was a disaster, because I have a seaweed phobia, and even though I tried to face it, I ended up screaming.
    You know I do it all for you, E.!!
    Hah hah, Wendy… well, I have to admit I wasn’t that close. It’s just the concept! (Himself points out that they have a harness, you know.. it’s not, like, ALL in the muscles.
    BB, any photographic praise from you is held in high esteem here!
    Linda, I agree – I’ve put that one on my desktop for a while! Well.. till the next one that feeds my soul!

Leave a Reply

