Awesome things

Ms 16 sent me a link to this blog – 1000 Awesome Things.

I know I often get ‘blogged down’ with the whinges and whines, even if I do try as hard as I can to turn them into a bit of self deprecating comedy.  I know, too,  that all too often I forget to acknowledge all the awesome things in my life. (Except for living near the beach. I do go on about the beach a bit, don’t I?)

Well, anyway, I’ve been having fun browsing through all those posts, and having a real out loud chuckle at quite a few that I can really relate to.  (How about you?)

And so I’ve decided I’m going to try to make a point of blogging something “awesome” every day, whether it be as an addendum to another post, or a standalone. I should never have the excuse of not being able to think of anything to blog about ever again, should I?

I spent much of yesterday in a bit of a funk and a bad mood, which is not at all helpful to anyone, least of all myself. And have you ever noticed, it’s often really trivial stuff that can put you in a mood? (Or is that just me?)

Well, whatever, maybe it’s time to more regularly focus on the positives, no matter how trivial.

[Or should I save it all up for a weekly post?  What do you think?]

Anyway, here’s a couple to get things started:


 

Yesterday.
The freshest bread ever. A white, uncut loaf. Crusts not burnt, but jusssst right. With butter.  (Real butter, not marg.)

Yummmmmm.  (Not good for me at all, but yuuuummmmmm.)

I’m categorising that in “AWESOME”


This morning:
On the weekend I finally re-jigged another article for PRG (I’ve had it in the ‘I don’t know where to start to fix it’ basket for weeks and weeks.) I just got an email back from the editor with a thumbs up (and minimal reediting.)

To translate that into more general terms, it’s the feeling you get when you finally deal with something you’ve been procrastinating about, because you really didn’t know how to attack it. You finally bite the bullet and have a go. And you come up trumps. (Look Tracey, you CAN do it after all!)

AWESOME.

 


So what are a couple of awesome little things that you noticed from the past day?  I really mean the little bitsy sorts of things in life we often forget to acknowledge, rather than a general thanksgiving (even if my timing happens to coincide…)

 

Whack them down in comments for me, and put a smile on my face!

8 Comments

Filed under awesome

8 responses to “Awesome things

  1. bushbabe

    Awesome things:
    1. One poddy calf still alive. (Off to feed him next)
    2. My family. (Feed them all the time).
    3. My calendar sales (it won’t feed me, but makes me feel good).
    4. Living in Oz. Every time I look at the international news I know I live in the best place in the world. (And I get fed regularly without having to shoot anyone).

    Really, it’s pretty much all about food.
    🙂
    BB

  2. Trace

    I often do the same thing – when I should be counting the blessings.

    1. My awesome family – near and far.
    2. Enough to survive on.
    3. Living in Paradise.

  3. Linda

    put on the spot I am not sure…not a good start for me is it!

  4. That’s ok, you can come back tomorrow! Or the next day! Check out that blog, I love some of the things they say. Not so much the big picture, general things, but the little things. Maybe the challenge will be for me to come up with my own little things every day.

  5. 1. How happy my dogs look when I give them a cracker.

    2.How happy my kids look when I give them a cracker.

    Maybe I should have put the kids before the dogs, eh?

    3. how amazing the coffee smells at 5 am, when the heater blows the aroma upstairs and wakes me up.

  6. I’m still breathing.
    Paul’s still breathing.

    We haven’t lost the ability to laugh at ourselves.

  7. Coming in here and reading your posts. Always makes me smile, even when you complain. (Not that I think you do anyway!)

  8. Coming in here and reading everyone’s comments. Thanks for adding your awesomeness, everyone.

    Thanks for buttering me up too Rhubarb! You’ll get on!

Leave a Reply

