Wilting a little.

A few weeks ago I was all full of vibrant spring analogies:azaleas

I did predict that the flowering wouldn’t last long …  didn’t I?

azaleasdead

But to be faced with this barely three weeks on is a bit sad.  We’re not even half way through Spring! Why so shortlived?  I’m trying not to get too caught up in the metaphor.. though I must confess I’m feeling slightly less passionate and enthusiastic about everything.

I guess by the end of a school term we are all feeling a bit weary – even the Mummy who doesn’t go to school.

Probably some of it is down to the weather.  We’ve now had three days of plus 30 temps since the beginning of September  – including today – which certainly didn’t happen last year!  Not in my lovely temperate coastal slice of paradise, anyway.  And we’ve had a duststorm.  And another dusty day a few days later, with that hot dry wind that tends to put you in a “mood”

I’ve been happy to hibernate in the ground-floor coolness of our house – and I feel hot and bothered, and all round irritated when I go out.  Some of that mood is anxiety about how bad summer might be, if this is what we’re being dished up with one month into Spring.

As I type this, the kids have all arrived home from their last day of school for the term. Due to popular demand we’re not going away anywhere these hols – they just want to veg. I am part looking forward to a two week break from the morning hurry-up-get-up-you’re-going-to-miss-the-bus! routine. And the getting them to A, B, C  and D after school.  But part knowing that I will get a bit frustrated with them getting under my feet, slothing around, and generally being a mix of demanding and lazy.

I’ll also miss my swim squad!

And I’ll also feel guilty because Himself will still have to get up to go to work. I will have to find a way to make the time productive, yet restorative at the same time.

Any hints?!

4 Comments

Filed under it's just another manic mum day, lost in procrastination, miscellaneous minutiae

4 responses to “Wilting a little.

  1. Imagine it was 2 weeks ago I was waxing lyrical about my break – and now it’s come to an end already. Just don;t get through the 2 weeks the same way I did – please!

  2. Tracey

    You wouldn’t wish that on anyone would you. Poor rhubarb. I’ve been trying to send you lots of ‘get better’ vibes this past week (and I linked to you in my last post!)

  3. That’s the one thing I hate about azaleas. So pretty for a couple of weeks, then boom, ordinary bushes.

    AS for the breaks, yeah, I feel guilty when Terry still has to leave for work at 6:30 and I don’t feel like fixing him breakfast first. Now that one is in college, and his breaks aren’t the same as the grade-school kid’s are, I don’t know what’s when or where.

  4. I’d run for the hills to keep from strangling the girls when they drive you mad.

    Head for the beach and take lots of photos.

    Sit in more coffee shops making notes and planning articles and blogs.

    Buy a lot of wine and share with M. when he returns how weary from work.

    See if anyone wants to take a recreational swim with you … perhaps you could bribe them with a treat on the way home.

Leave a Reply

