The last tree.

One of the things I love about living where we do is that I have instant access to the beach. Our house is basically only one block away – so when I take myself out for ‘a walk’, this is where I go, rather than walking around the residential streets.

backbeach

Well, you would, wouldn’t you.

It’s always different.  Every day is different.  The weather. The tide. The light. The time of day.

But until I lived here, I never fully realised just how a beach environment changes over time due to ocean and weather conditions.

The sea giveth and the sea taketh away… I never fully realised just how much sand gets dumped, or washed away over time.

A few weeks ago we really copped some bad weather, and the beach and dunes took a pounding. I haven’t been as diligent as I would have liked in taking photos, but I’m going to start taking more, and posting them up – and I’ll also dig through my photo archives…

When I shoot out for a quick walk, I’ll usually head north, up  ‘back beach’ (above).  A good turning point to make it a 45 minute hit out was always “the last tree”  – there are a few solitary casuarinas dotted up the dunes for a fair way up, so I would walk to the last one, then turn back.

After the wild seas chomped into the dunes the other week, there were a few casualties.

lasttree

roots

I’m going to have to work out some new marker points for my walks. (Well, not right now, as 3 fallen trees are pretty obvious. But later…)

I also wonder what is going to happen to them. I don’t know if council will come and deal with them, or whether they’ll be left for Mother Nature to deal with in Her own way.

2 Comments

Filed under australiana, our beach

2 responses to “The last tree.

  1. Love the photos, but you already know how much I like visuals. *grin*

  2. Goodness – that is severe!! We have a little more than a block to walk to the beach, and the one in walking distance is too short to be more than a gentle stroll while promenading.

    BTW – bling at mine for you.

Leave a Reply

