Here goes.

Starting up a new blog should be the last thing on my list of things to do right now, but, there you go, that’s pretty typical of me.  Start feeling overwhelmed by a great long list of obligations, promises, and ‘should-dos’, and what do I do? Something else again, of course!  I do have my reasons –  just not sure about my priorities.

I also didn’t realise I’d find a first post so bloody difficult. (It’s not like I’ve never written a blog post before!)  But I have a whole About page to satisfy the urge to write the Story of Me, so what on earth do I put in an introductory post that will ultimately end up lost and dusty in the archives anyway?

Well, just quickly, here’s the back story: I had an old blog – which I started in 2006 in order to ‘practise my writing’.  I’m not sure what I expected out of it, but after two years I was getting a little bit disillusioned that it hadn’t really opened any doors or prompted any great epiphanies. And I was feeling a lot guilty that I was spending too much time blogging.   I felt that my writing had improved, but there was also a lot that I might have written differently (put in, left out, etc) with the wonderful wisdom of hindsight and experience.

When I started a web developing/design course at the beginning of this year, my conscience  told me to give it a rest.

And then a few months later a little door in the universe creaked open and out sprinkled a bit of star dust and an invitation to write some articles for a new website that was being launched. Wow! Someone liked my writing after all!

I had already decided that maybe 2009 should be my year of ‘reinvention’ , and so in the spirit of that I figured that a new look blog was in order.  For anything more to come out of the writing gig, I’d need a net ‘presence’, and, well,  a fresh start seemed the way to go.

A wordpress platform also seemed to be the way to move onwards and upwards, and so here I am struggling for the right words to impress, while I wrangle a new interface.  (There’s the ‘good’ and the ‘bad’ when I compare it to Blogger.)  Ultimately I’ll go for my own domain name, and, after I learn a bit more CSS with this course, I’d like to think I could fully design my own blog template. But I’m too impatient to wait till all that can happen, so for now I’m stuck with the frustrations of a free wordpress.com url, and the limitations imposed thereon. (I’m not impressed that I have to pay to make any public changes to the CSS.)

So I’ll gradually tinker around with it all – meanwhile it’s the words that are more important. And I’ll spill more about my bit part in the ‘writing gig’ when it is launched.

Welcome to my brave new world.  And a toast: To old blog friends, and new.

1 Comment

Filed under miscellaneous minutiae

One response to “Here goes.

  1. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post actually made my day. You cann’t imagine just how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

